Start Browsing
  Loading... Please wait...
Stock Music for Media Production - Music Licensing Made Easy
Stock Music Library
Questions? Call Customer Support
1-888-316-0971 (Toll-Free)
1-718-965-9230 (International)
Start Browsing

Solo Instrument

johann-sebastian-bach.jpgClassical production music recordings of Bach's music for solo instrument.  Of special note here are the French Suite No. 5 in G Major recordings performed on piano by Magdalena Müllerperth.

Bach actually composed the French Suites for harpsichord (the piano wasn't even invented yet!).  In the late 1950s, while Bach's music was undergoing a resurgence, thanks mostly to LP recordings of his work, the Canadian pianist Glenn Gould recorded many of Bach's harpsichord works including the French Suites.  Hearing Gould's interpretations of Bach's harpsichord music transferred to piano startled audiences and caused a classical music sensation.  Recorded in 1956, Gould's recording of the Goldberg Variations launched Gould to stardom and has set classical music sales records to this day.

Other famous works in this category include the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor for organ.  You hear this piece a lot around Halloween or other spooky situations.  It has somehow been typed as a scarey work though that was not Bach's initial intention.  Hollywood has also used it quite a bit as movie soundtrack.  If you don't recognize the title, you will, undoubtedly, recognize the famous beginning of this work.

UniqueTracks also has a very beautiful recording of Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring performed on piano by Christoph Soldan. Jesu Joy is actually the last movement of the large work, the cantata Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147 for solo vocalists and orchestra.  It was arranged for solo piano performance in 1926.  Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring is very popular in Christmas and Easter performances.

The UniqueTracks Stock Music Library is able to license these recordings for many different media uses.  You can configure your license right here on this website by choosing your usage type from the drop-down box when you click the "License/Buy this Track" link.

Streaming audition files include an audio 'watermark' and are mono, 16 bit, 128kbps .mp3 files.
The actual Master files are delivered to you with no watermark as stereo .wav files in CD quality 44.1kHz, 16 bit format.
  • Toccata and Fugue in D Minor

  • Allemande, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Courante, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Sarabande, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Gavotte, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Bourrée, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Loure, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Gigue, French Suite No. 5 in G Major

  • Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

  • Pastoral

  • Prelude in C Minor

  • Fugue in C Minor

  • In Dulci Jubilo (on Good Christian Men Rejoice)

  • Quia respexit, from Magnificat

  • Wer nun den lieben Gott lasst walten

  • Deposuit potentes, from Magnificat

  • Wir glauben all'an einen Gott

  • Gavotte and Rondo - Partita in E Major

  • Wir glauben all'in einen Gott